Mon, Oct 21, 5:06 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Oct 21 4:13 pm)

Subject: how do you differentiate a swan from a goose, in poser?

Poppi ( ) posted Sat, 17 May 2003 at 7:59 PM · edited Wed, 02 October 2024 at 7:22 PM

yeah, it's a localized poppi problem...and, a dispute in my real world life....what polygon parts would be different...i.e...biggger chest/bill/feet??? can some critter experts please find the time to answer? thanks :*) Pop...Pop...Poppi!!!

Hisminky ( ) posted Sat, 17 May 2003 at 8:50 PM

I'm not an expert, but a swan is MUCH larger overall. Bigger feet, longer neck. I spose it depends more on which type of swan/goose is being compared.

igohigh ( ) posted Sat, 17 May 2003 at 10:29 PM

Swans are deffinatly larger. Also they are more 'elegantly' shapped, more curvey wereas a goose is more duck-like. The neck of the swan is generally longer than that of a goose too.

lhiannan ( ) posted Sat, 17 May 2003 at 10:30 PM

Attached Link: http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/ecological_services/nongame/projects/trumpeterswan/id.html

The link references a certain kind of goose and swan, but you can see the difference. Swans are much larger (but it seems more thin) than a goose and have much longer necks (isn't it refered to as "snake-like"?). Personally, I think geese just look like fat, ugly ducks with shorter, thicker beaks. But, that is also the opinion of someone who was chased and consequently bitten repeatedly by a goose at the local park as a little girl. I did a Google search with the words "difference between a swan and goose" (no quotes) and it turned up quite a few useful links, but you'd have to dig through a few pages of garbage as well.

ssalter ( ) posted Sat, 17 May 2003 at 10:32 PM

A swan can be appreciated by anyone but a goose to the wrong person can get you slapped.

igohigh ( ) posted Sun, 18 May 2003 at 12:07 AM