Mon, Sep 9, 4:23 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Bryce

Welcome to the Bryce Forum

Forum Moderators: TheBryster

Bryce F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Aug 28 6:28 pm)

[Gallery]     [Tutorials]

THE PLACE FOR ALL THINGS BRYCE - GOT A PROBLEM? YOU'VE COME TO THE RIGHT PLACE

Subject: How close can I get?

BillyGoat ( ) posted Tue, 23 January 2001 at 9:24 AM · edited Sat, 27 July 2024 at 1:07 AM

I am brand new to Bryce 4 - and want to know if someone could help me to achieve a close-up view of the terrain. Actually, I need to know what steps you take to get there. A couple of pictures below show exactly what i'm aiming for. Close enough to see grass, footprints, sand particles, etc. I'd really appreciate a little help. Thank you!

fredramsey ( ) posted Tue, 23 January 2001 at 11:01 AM

I think you may be thinking of it in the wrong way. Don't think of it as getting closer, think of making features at the scale you want to see them at. A terrain large and in the background can be a mountain. One small and up close (or with a tin can next to it) can be a molehill :-) The rest of what you are talking about, grass, sand, etc. is just a matter of textures. Also, it is a common trap to think that all the terrains produced by Bryce are just the default mountain shape. Play around with the other Fractals, and you'll probably find a piece of ground like what you are looking for. Does that make any sense?

BillyGoat ( ) posted Tue, 23 January 2001 at 1:11 PM