Mon, Sep 9, 4:08 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 09 2:22 am)

Subject: blotches on conforming clothes... help needed

Ken _Gilliland ( ) posted Tue, 05 July 2005 at 8:14 PM ยท edited Wed, 24 July 2024 at 3:11 AM

file_266933.jpg

Okay, I going crazy... Admittedly, I'm still a novice on conforming clothes... but I managed to do a hat, pants and boots with no problem at all... my jacket however, has been nothing but problems. I have blotches that appear on the conforming jacket. Usually I'd assume it's reversed normals or degenerate polygons, but I've checked and checked and checked... in fact I rendered the .obj file alongside the conforming character. The blotches do appear to be near the polygon group edges, so I guessing that's part of the issue... can somebody figure out what I doing wrong? Thanks!

Songbird ReMix

wdupre ( ) posted Tue, 05 July 2005 at 8:44 PM

Im going to assume this is in P6. P6 has a real issue with smoothing, spacificly around group edges. IMO this is a bug, and needs to be fixed, but for now the solution is to up the Crease angle in each of the affected bodyparts.

Ken _Gilliland ( ) posted Tue, 05 July 2005 at 10:22 PM

Yes, it was rendered in P6 (and built with P-Wizard Conforming Tool)... I had heard about the P6 issues, so tried also on my wife's machine that has Poser Pro-- same results so I don't think this one is a Poser 6 problem.

Songbird ReMix

Xena ( ) posted Wed, 06 July 2005 at 6:03 PM

Probably a weld/split problem. Take your jacket into UVMapper and Tools>Vertices>Weld the entire thing, then Tools>Vertices>Split using all facets with an 84 angle and no auto-smooth and resave it (with another name of course) then point your cr2 to the new object. Should fix those nasty buggers right up :)

Ken _Gilliland ( ) posted Wed, 06 July 2005 at 8:31 PM

file_266934.jpg