Wed, Oct 2, 10:21 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Photography

Welcome to the Photography Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny, Deenamic Forum Coordinators: Anim8dtoon

Photography F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 18 12:22 pm)

Subject: I need some unbiased opinions of a pic please

Boofy ( ) posted Fri, 08 December 2006 at 5:23 AM · edited Sun, 01 September 2024 at 5:52 PM

file_361700.jpg

Hi all.

We were on our way to a town called 'Captains' Flat out of Canberra NSW to visit my aunty.

As we were about an hour early we decided to have a drive around and I took some pics (naturally).

This was just a bit of the bushland near by. After downloading it I find that I like the softness of the pic, it reminds me of a water colour painting in some ways. However I am not good at judging sharpness and balance etc.

I am thinking of entering it in a competition at our camera club so I need some opinions on wether it technically good (as that is judged) and if you think the rock in the foreground is a distraction or an enhancement. If the former what should I do? Soften the tone of it or try to clone it out.

Please don't be afraid to say it is bad as I would rather know now and put something else up instead.

Or any hints on improving the image would be great.

Thanks for your help.
Jenny

gwfa ( ) posted Fri, 08 December 2006 at 5:56 AM

I like the colours, depth and especially the little rock while the composition (the trees could have observed the rule of third..) and sharpness fail in my view.
on the other hand: if the missing sharpness was somehow emphasized it could get a real water colour effect....

Gerald

Gora ( ) posted Fri, 08 December 2006 at 6:05 AM

I agree, I too quite like the compositio, with small details. Personally I would just satuarated the image a little more, and try a smart sharped in PS...

"If toast
always lands butter-side down, and cats always land on their feet, what
happens if you strap toast on the back of a cat and drop it?"

Steven Wright