Fri, Oct 4, 12:17 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Oct 04 8:39 am)

Subject: Dynamic cloth help needed - see attached image

dlk30341 ( ) posted Sun, 09 December 2007 at 3:25 PM · edited Wed, 02 October 2024 at 7:46 PM

file_395202.jpg

This is my first time using dynamic cloth for starters.  I'm using V3 - standard injections & Pappys Robe.  I turned off Ik & Zeroed the pose 1st off.  I did a 120 frame simulation & this is what I got :(.

Poke thru(It's far worse than it looks as I've made some parts invisible & scaled down various parts) & V3 is kneeling & as you can see the front part of the robe did NOT bend back underneath her.  Whereas the back part did crumple as it should. 

Where have I gone wrong?

diolma ( ) posted Sun, 09 December 2007 at 4:07 PM

2nd part 1st ('cos that's probably easier...)
I suspect that you didn't set the cloth to collide with the ground (or whatever V3 is kneeling on). The back is OK 'cos it's resting on V3's legs, but at the front there's nothing for the cloth to collide with.

A couple words of advice when colliding with the ground:

1. In the anim part from standing to kneeling, move v3 forwards at the same time. That way the cloth will fold under the legs. If you don't do this then the cloth will just puddle messily (unless, of course, that's the effect you want).
  2. Leave a fairly large gap between V3's knees and the ground (at least as much as the width of V3's index finger, possibly more). This will give the cloth room to move. If you don't leave the gap then the clothifying will probably fail, either just stopping short, taking forever between frames or start sending bits of the cloth shooting off in random directions.

As for the poke-thru...
I suspect that there are several culprits.