Wed, Sep 18, 1:35 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 18 7:39 am)

Subject: Backlights in Poser. How?

Lenora2 ( ) posted Thu, 10 January 2008 at 1:36 PM · edited Tue, 06 August 2024 at 8:56 PM

Hi Guys I'm here again with a question... How I can manage to get Backlights in Poser? I'm a newbie in creating lights and yet I get amazed with certain effects I find in images on the internet, like this one: http://oddpixels.deviantart.com/art/The-Archer-72986091

The image is from oddpixels (one of my fav artists) and she said, when I asked, that she worked with DazStudio to get this backlights (that white halo that kinda surround the main character)

I was wondering if I could do that in Poser7 using only lights. I actually did some tests but nothing close what I expected to achieve...

replicand ( ) posted Thu, 10 January 2008 at 1:52 PM

You can create new lights using the "lightball" controller. Just swing them around to the back. It looks like she may be using several - I usually use one distant light. You may also want to consult books on lighting and cinematography. My current favorite is Painting With Light by Alton, available at Amazon.

coocooFORcocoapuffs ( ) posted Fri, 11 January 2008 at 2:11 AM

replicand, is there a tut somewhere on point lights to specific characters and excluding others? I know in other 3d packages u can do, say point a spot on one character and not another, or exclude parts to light and parts to not, etc. I could not find in poser...and that light ball is a pain in the butt yes? :)

msg24_7 ( ) posted Fri, 11 January 2008 at 11:11 AM

Quote - ...
I was wondering if I could do that in Poser7 using only lights. I actually did some tests but nothing close what I expected to achieve...

Have a look at this short tutorial by Traveler at RDNA....
http://www.runtimedna.com/mod/forum/messages.php?ShowMessage=138091