Thu, Sep 19, 9:42 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 19 9:35 am)

Subject: making clothing

rbowen ( ) posted Thu, 01 May 2008 at 3:02 PM · edited Mon, 12 August 2024 at 1:40 PM

I am still new to 3D but would like to make clothing for V3 and V4.  Which program would be most easy for me to start with?  Is Poser a good place for a beginner to start?

pjz99 ( ) posted Thu, 01 May 2008 at 3:31 PM

Not really, because for making clothing you really need a modeler.  Look into the Pegasus modeler at DAZ, it's probably the easiest to get started with because it's specifically designed for modeling Poser content - a lot of the difficulty in modeling anything for Poser is importing and exporting.  I should warn you, modeling and texturing and rigging clothing is one of the hardest tasks Poser has to offer.  It requires a whole lot of entirely seprate skills, each of them difficult when taken all by themselves:

• Modeling
  • UVmapping
  • Texturing
  • Rigging
  • Morph management

Phil Cooke's web page is a good place to start, many tutorials having to do with clothing and Poser:
www.philc.net

My Freebies

PhilC ( ) posted Thu, 01 May 2008 at 3:43 PM

By happy chance the Clothing Designer Suite is this month's product in the Content Paradise First Friday Bazaar. 90% saving but only for a couple of days.

Clothing Designer

OBJ2CR2

Scissors

Bundle

The sale "officially" starts tomorrow but I've put it in early.

Tashar59 ( ) posted Thu, 01 May 2008 at 3:45 PM

Poser is used for rigging, also grouping, dynamics and morphs of a mesh. You need a modeling software to create that mesh before it goes into poser for the rest of the process.