Wed, Oct 2, 10:23 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Oct 02 9:25 am)

Subject: Stupid Runtime Questions

moogal ( ) posted Tue, 18 February 2014 at 11:11 PM · edited Sun, 22 September 2024 at 7:26 AM

I've been throwing stuff into the same runtime for over 12 years now, and I think it's time I started over.  Doing contract work showed me the benefits of separating runtimes on a project basis, but what to do with my 16.1GB runtime of figures, props a downloaded content?

So here's my main question:  Let's assume I point Poser at a runtime and load a figure.  Then I redirect Poser to another runtime (and it contains a folder with all of the same textures).  If I save the loaded figure to that runtime, will that runtime then contain everything needed to load that figure?  I know there are tools to gather associated files for redistribution, but I'm looking for an easy way to move multiple figures and props to a new runtime, as that seems simpler than trying to clean my current runtime of cruft.

If not, then what are the main folders I need to duplicate (geometries, textures etc.)?

Am I on the wrong track here?

piersyf ( ) posted Tue, 18 February 2014 at 11:47 PM

From my experience, no it won't. I'm not certain, but I think what happens is if you load a figure from your generic runtime (say a clothing item for V4) and save it to a new V4 runtime, the save records where the data came from. If you then deleted the old generic runtime and tried to open that item from the new runtime, poser wouldn't be able to find it because the file has been deleted. In fact, when I have done something like that with multiple runtimes, it won't search other runtimes for mat files, it asks where it is.