Fri, Oct 4, 2:24 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Oct 04 8:39 am)

Subject: Getting over the intermediate hump

TheFlaneur ( ) posted Sun, 01 May 2016 at 6:04 PM · edited Fri, 04 October 2024 at 12:21 PM

Hi all,

Longtime visitor here, infrequent poster. Long post ahead...

I've been attempting to create my own 3D art for over 2 years now. My main motivation was to create a very specific character and go from there. I knew precisely what she needed to look like (because she's based on a real person). I started as a complete n00b over 2 years ago with the goal of creating the best likeness I possibly could.

After about a year and a half of sticking with it, messed up a lot, but learning even more I finally got to a point where I had a convincing likeness for my model. However, the figure I had created was the accumulation of all of my ignorance. I had injected morph packs for virtually every body part/facial feature to avoid having to manually create my own morphs. By now, I wish I knew then what I know now because I would have just rolled up my sleeves and built her from scratch from the base V4 model.

Now I have a great likeness, but because I work in Poser, I have a figure bloated with morphs. Even after weeding out all the morphs I no longer use, I have a figure that seems to really bog down Poser, especially if I ever use conforming clothes. Any action takes several seconds to even register, making posing an extremely slow, frustrating process -- especially since I know it should be moving much faster, smoother.

My question is this: does anyone have a recommendation for how I should proceed?