Wed, Oct 23, 6:31 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Bryce

Welcome to the Bryce Forum

Forum Moderators: TheBryster

Bryce F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Oct 20 11:30 am)

[Gallery]     [Tutorials]

THE PLACE FOR ALL THINGS BRYCE - GOT A PROBLEM? YOU'VE COME TO THE RIGHT PLACE

Subject: (Newbie Question) How to Bend a Bar....

SmileyMax ( ) posted Thu, 08 January 2004 at 9:04 PM ยท edited Sat, 10 August 2024 at 8:20 AM

Sorry, this may be a slightly a stupid question but im a real newbie with Bryce. Now inderstand boolean functions and I know that it wouldn't be THAT hard to make a bent bar with the us of some toruses, (tori) and some cylanders, but that could be a real pain with some intense bending. So I'm wondering if there's any way to make a bend bar easier. Or if anyone has some obj. sets of bent bars or something like that could be really useful for creations. Thanks Guys Devin Taylor Thinking Allowed Graphics

draculaz ( ) posted Thu, 08 January 2004 at 9:16 PM

i think there's a wonder bar tube or something a regular here has posted (he'll kill me since i don't remember his name). check the bryce freebies for that. otherwise, you have three options: 1. symmetrical lattice. make what you want in photoshop or whatever, blur it a bit, import it into the terrain lab as a picture and have fun. 2. multi-replication of a sphere or something. hard and annoying 3. cylinder, sphere, cylinder, sphere 4. bonus: www.wings3d.com Drac

woodhurst ( ) posted Thu, 08 January 2004 at 9:49 PM

Madmaxbr5 posted a plug-in for Bryce he had created called "smart-pipe" which makes excellent bent cylinders using metaballs (only works if you are using bryce 5) search the forum for "smartpipe" or "zenith" and find the message about it being free, if u cant find it I will look for it and send u the link. If not that, I would agree w/ Drac and go with Wings 3d, by creating a cylinder, then extruding/ rotating the top repeatedly, u can make some awesome pipes good luck!