Fri, Sep 20, 12:57 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 19 11:01 pm)

Subject: WhyPoser5FireFlyRenderSOSlow???

tebop ( ) posted Fri, 15 October 2004 at 7:47 PM ยท edited Fri, 26 July 2024 at 2:54 AM

Hello all, i'm new to poser 5. just trying thingss out. and i decided to render a simple judy with a hair from the included hairs. i had FireFly Renderer selected..hit Render and well, you guessed right, it's sooo slow, moves nothing at all. Why is this? When i switched to Poser 4 rendering it was fast( thank god they included that Option in Poser 5). i have a Mac g5 with 512 MB Ram, would adding more memory speed up my poser 5 activities???

Charlie_Tuna ( ) posted Fri, 15 October 2004 at 8:08 PM

Yeah, that would help a lot, with a G5 you have the speed, just not enough memory. Poser ignores graphics cards so it dumps ALL the picture rendering work squarely in the proccessor's lap, expecting it to do all of that work along with all its own work

Why shouldn't speech be free? Very little of it is worth anything.

softriver ( ) posted Fri, 15 October 2004 at 9:42 PM

Check your rendering options, as well. With Firefly, my best trick is to add options slowly (displacement, raytracing, etc. ) only as I need them. My preview renders with 40,000 vert hair styles run about 2 - 5 minutes, while my final renders have been running me 15 - 45 minutes (at 2000x2000, 150 dpi). Firefly will be somewhat slower than P4's renderer... just the nature of the beast. When I render in softimage, by contrast, I only turn on Mental Ray when I'm ready to go production, and have time to wait. On my wishlist for P6 is a network renderer. For the record, my P5 machine specs are: 2.8 GHz Pentium 512 Mb RAM Windows 2K Pro The rest doesn't matter for Poser, but in case you're curious, I use a 256 Mb NVidia DX 9 card.

thefixer ( ) posted Sat, 16 October 2004 at 4:42 AM