Tue, Sep 24, 5:21 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Vue

Welcome to the Vue Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny, TheBryster

Vue F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 20 5:40 am)

Subject: Sea & Waves. Just how do you do it?

sicowan ( ) posted Fri, 10 December 2004 at 2:46 AM ยท edited Tue, 13 August 2024 at 2:54 PM

This is I bet the most frequently asked Vue question, but how do you create realistic looking sea scenes with waves, foam etc. (there must be a cracking tutorial out there somewhere). I have a feeling it may have something to do with creating a terrain and then adding a water/foam material to it, but I'm not sure where to start. I am new to Vue and I am using version 5.0. Any help to point in the right direction would be appreciated.
Cheers,
Simon

wabe ( ) posted Fri, 10 December 2004 at 3:37 AM

Attached Link: http://www.guitta.net

A good start for beginners is always the link i have enclosed. We still suffer from the much too early loss of Guitta. Guitta has a lot of wonderful tutorials on her page. One is for foam and waves i think. With even some materials and samples. Another idea is to look a little deeper in this forum for a thread where Hellborn explained how he did brilliant waves with V5. And even offered a sample scene for free. Next idea is to look for Monsoon's Seascape package at www.3DCommune.com Has some excellent materials, objects and bitmaps to do all sort of sea stuff. I use that mostly for my sea related scenes. BTW, there is a little free program called CausticGenerator available that creates bitmaps for waves that you can use in the terrain editor then to do good looking waves.

One day your ship comes in - but you're at the airport.

sicowan ( ) posted Fri, 10 December 2004 at 6:03 AM

Thank you Wabe, that makes for an excellent start... Simon

Monsoon ( ) posted Fri, 10 December 2004 at 11:27 AM

Attached Link: http://www.curvy3d.com/gallery/albums/userpics/SeaAlpha4.jpg