Mon, Oct 21, 9:58 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Oct 21 9:06 pm)

Subject: Brief FX tute - muzzle flashes, smoke, blasts, bolts...

thip ( ) posted Wed, 27 April 2005 at 12:50 PM · edited Mon, 21 October 2024 at 9:46 PM

Content Advisory! This message contains violence

Attached Link: "Boarding Party" by SoulTaker

file_229019.jpg

Had a few IM's about the FX in my humble comic. I'm no expert, but none of the experts seem to have posted such a tute lately, so I thought I'd start one while we wait ;o) SoulTaker has kindly permitted me to use a WIP image of his :

http://www.renderosity.com/viewed.ez?galleryid=919747

...as a base. Any suggestions will be more than welcome, we all struggle with this FX stuff. The FX here are a bit heavy-handed, for clarity, but once you have practiced a bit, it's easy to make things smaller (or bigger, as the case and need may be). The point is that these FX call for no experience at drawing or painting. Such skills certainly come in handy, but there's a lot of artists out there who do superb images without'em ;o)

operaguy ( ) posted Wed, 27 April 2005 at 1:09 PM

I'm on board for this...have an animation that needs some dust kicking up from the fall of a heavy object. Buuuttttttt....this seems to be a 'postwork' tutorial, no? I can't find the paint can in poser. Cool scene! ::::: Opera :::::

thip ( ) posted Wed, 27 April 2005 at 1:13 PM

Definitely postwork - it's Paint Shop Pro, BTW. Might work for animation if you "faded in" and "faded out" a muzzle flash over, say, 10 images, but I am definitely no expert at anim FX ;o)

jwiest ( ) posted Wed, 27 April 2005 at 1:38 PM

OOh...this is great stuff. If I ever get some time to do postworking, I'd find this really handy. Thanks!

John

maxxxmodelz ( ) posted Wed, 27 April 2005 at 1:48 PM