Fri, Sep 20, 4:35 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Vue

Welcome to the Vue Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny, TheBryster

Vue F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 17 9:46 am)

Subject: Light in a glass ball

shadu ( ) posted Tue, 27 December 2005 at 11:58 AM · edited Fri, 20 September 2024 at 4:23 AM

I want to make a fantasy setting where ball of glass make the light in some dark corridor. Or i have a lot of difficulty to do that. I create a ball of glass material and put a light in it. But the light do not go beyong the ball and my room is still dark... How can i arrange that? I am still new in vue. Shadu

jc ( ) posted Tue, 27 December 2005 at 2:38 PM · edited Tue, 27 December 2005 at 2:39 PM

Always good to mention which version of Vue you use - they have different capabilities.

In Vue 5 Infinite I had no problem using a point source light inside a sphere that had any of the default glass materials or any i had purchased. Here is an image using a standard Vue primitive sphere, with a colored glass material and 1 point source light in the center.

LiteInGlass1-400.jpg

Is your "Light and Shadows" control set to have the light illuminate the objects you want?
You can have every scene object lighted or not per light source with that control.
Did you make your own sphere or use a Vue primitive? If your own, maybe it is not UV mapped?

Not sure what your problem is. Maybe you can supply more details and a pix?
Also, which type of lighting i used made no difference they all worked.

_jc
Art Head Start.com
Art training e-book for digital artists and students

Message edited on: 12/27/2005 14:39

bruno021 ( ) posted Tue, 27 December 2005 at 5:42 PM

Jc, the light & shadow control set you mention is only available in 5 Pro Studio & 5 Infinite. Indeed, would be good to know what version you are using, shadu.

hein ( ) posted Tue, 27 December 2005 at 10:26 PM