Fri, Sep 20, 10:31 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 20 6:55 am)

Subject: (OT)---W32/Polip virus??? layman explanation needed please........

bnetta ( ) posted Sun, 30 April 2006 at 2:57 PM · edited Fri, 20 September 2024 at 10:30 AM

ok it would seem that many of my poser user friends have been infected with this virus, including myself................here is the mcafee description: http://us.mcafee.com/virusInfo/default.asp?id=description&virus_k=139296

but, could someone tell me in laymans terms what it is actually doing in my puter??

is it deleting files?
is it sending personal info somewhere?
ect......?

thanks

netta

www.oodlesdoodles.com

diolma ( ) posted Sun, 30 April 2006 at 3:39 PM

Attached Link: http://www.drweb.com/

Hi bnetta,

(This is as I understand it - I'm not an expert..)

What it's actually doing is lowering your security levels, thus making your PC more vulnerable to other attacks. And it does it by slowly infecting your .exe and/or .scr files.
It also attacks your AV proggies, trying to blind-side them, so they either can't see it or can't get rid of it.

It is very tiresome to get rid of. Some of the major AVs can't (yet) touch it.

However, I'm told that Dr. Web's "cureit" can get rid of it. There's a free version available at (or near) the above link. (I think you get to the free one via the downloads page..)

The free version doesn't do automatic updates - you have to get the paid-for version for that, but apparantly it CAN get rid of this pest without you having to do a re-format.

Best do it quickly though. From what I've read it spreads itself onto the .exe files on your PC and if it gets into the main operating system it can start causing it to crash...
Hope that helps,

Cheers,
Diolma

bnetta ( ) posted Sun, 30 April 2006 at 3:43 PM

thank you for the reply.

netta

www.oodlesdoodles.com