Sat, Sep 21, 9:33 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Fractals

Welcome to the Fractals Forum

Forum Moderators: Deenamic

Fractals F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Aug 27 11:19 am)

Subject: Rendering for printing

XoxoTree ( ) posted Wed, 28 June 2006 at 12:50 AM · edited Sat, 21 September 2024 at 7:28 AM

I will be printing up a few of my images and am not sure how I should render them. Can you give me a push in the right direction? Also does the size of the image change the render. I really would apreciate any  infor. ,for I am very new to this. Thanks.

Therese

AKA

LottaLagg1!

"One Oneness One"

XoxoTree ( ) posted Wed, 28 June 2006 at 12:50 AM

"One Oneness One"

Timbuk2 ( ) posted Wed, 28 June 2006 at 3:12 AM

Are you printing them yourself or taking them to a printer?

XoxoTree ( ) posted Wed, 28 June 2006 at 3:27 AM

i'm taking them to kinko's

"One Oneness One"

Timbuk2 ( ) posted Wed, 28 June 2006 at 4:11 AM

I don't know how kinko's works but most printers I know of have Photoshop and can size an image to whatever size you like. It's important that you render it to a very high resolution so your image is not pixelated or suffers from aliasing. Some say around 4000x4000 pixels is good, maybe less if your prints won't be very large. One thing you may find is that your colors don't match what the printer prints. It's therefore a good idea to get a small 'proof' of the image to compare to what's on your screen. If they're not the same, or close enough, then you have some work to do. First is to calibrate your display setup. There are lots of sites that have information on this procedure. Photoshop has a quick and easy program you can install called Adobe Gamma that works pretty good. Let us know how it goes.

Cheers,

Tim

HellGauss ( ) posted Wed, 28 June 2006 at 4:55 AM

I use 12-13 pixel/mm (about 300-330 pixel/inch) for photopaper.

I want to start to print on canvas, and i think i will use less resolution (8-9 pixel/mm)