Tue, Oct 1, 5:29 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Oct 01 3:49 pm)

Subject: I'm a Runtime newbie... couple of questions

Darkworld ( ) posted Wed, 27 August 2008 at 3:33 PM · edited Tue, 01 October 2024 at 5:28 PM

Well, i now have to boot Poser THREE times in a row before i can start working; it takes that many for it to finally build the library list.  My machine is INSANE at this point so i know it has nothing to do with my system- i figure it is 100% because my Runtime is just too big...

I can accept that, it was only a matter of time.  So what I plan to do is when i can catch a break reinstall PPro in a different directory and gasp rebuild the Runtime from the ground up instead of copying it over again; but this time I want to do it right.

So when I'm installing, say I want categories like Modern, Sci-Fi, Fantasy.  How would I go about doing that correctly from the beginning?  For example say I just bought Sci-FiSuit009 or whatever, I install the content, then when the directory comes up I just change the path to a different Runtime?

I've been using Poser for 8 years now but I've never split the runtime so I'm a total newb at this.  I know there are apps that can do it without me starting over... but I'd really rather not deal with it.  I have SO MANY lost files/parts/bump maps/pngs/OBJs etc of stuff I no longer use, and orphaned parts of content I tried to delete ages ago, that I'm going to bite the bullet and start over ENTIRELY.  I want poser MUCH leaner and meaner than it is now.

Anyway, given that I'll be reinstalling from scratch, and handy tips on setting up 3 or 4 runtimes from the get-go would be appreciated.  Thanks!

Realmling ( ) posted Wed, 27 August 2008 at 4:11 PM

Plan out just how you want to set things up first...then go through and do it. I'm sure mine is probably over-organized....but it works for what I do.