Sun, Sep 22, 11:42 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 22 2:04 am)

Subject: Removing shadows

thekingtut ( ) posted Wed, 18 February 2009 at 10:02 PM · edited Sun, 22 September 2024 at 11:39 AM

I'm new to Poser, and I was wondering if you can remove shadows. I was working on a space scene and kept getting my ships shadows on the background i was using.

markschum ( ) posted Wed, 18 February 2009 at 10:22 PM

You can either add the background in photoshop or turn off shadows for the lights. Its a checkbox on the light properties .

hborre ( ) posted Wed, 18 February 2009 at 10:23 PM
Online Now!

You can turn off casting shadows on your lights in the parameters panel.

Tashar59 ( ) posted Wed, 18 February 2009 at 10:50 PM

You can also turn off cast shadows on any prop or figure in thier properties box. Which also comes in handy if you have a back plane or wall with a light behind it.

Would like to see an option for " show shadows." would be a very handy option you could then turn that off of your item and it would not show any shadows. A few of my other rendering apps have this, not sure why it has never been put into Poser.

bagginsbill ( ) posted Wed, 18 February 2009 at 11:18 PM

Guys turning off shadows in a space scene will ruin your realism. Any ship that has anything at all sticking out of it should cast a really sharp shadow ON ITSELF. Turning off shadows for the light or the ship is a bad idea.

The real problem is you've modeled your background as a prop that is lit by your light source. Stars and galaxies and such are billions of miles away and are self-lit. All you gotta do is handle the background image correctly.