Sat, Sep 21, 2:36 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Fractals

Welcome to the Fractals Forum

Forum Moderators: Deenamic

Fractals F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Aug 27 11:19 am)

Subject: FE is going into fits - any help welcome..

DreamersWish ( ) posted Tue, 16 March 2010 at 10:19 PM · edited Sat, 21 September 2024 at 2:34 PM

I have been using FE for almost eight years and I have never had this much difficulty out of it.  I am just wondering if anyone else is having these problems.  Lately when I am using FE, it blinks out comes back on and then will not allow me to save any image currently showing.  It keeps giving me these messages that show up and then multiply.  If I am wanting to change the color, it gives me a message and will not go away until I close the color palette.  These are just a few problems I have had lately.  I am wondering if it has to with how many images I have on screen, any software running, or if maybe there is a FE bug out there.  Any suggestions?  Thank you before hand and have a good day!

Beth

peedy ( ) posted Wed, 17 March 2010 at 1:18 AM

I had the multiple error just yesterday.
I thought it was because I had too many images open, yes.
It only went away after I closed FE.

Corrie

Rerewhakaaitu ( ) posted Mon, 29 March 2010 at 11:23 PM

Sorry I didn't see this post earlier.

There are quite a few bugs in FE, and one can be what you describe, But a lot depends on the FE version, and which Windows version you are running. The multiple open windows problem isn't uncommon. It seems to be related to the amount of RAM you have. It uses a lot of memory. This is more pronounced in the later Windows versions: XP and later, and could also be exacerbated by RAM load from virus checkers and other apps. Increasing the pagefile allocation can help a bit, but hardware RAM increase helps more. (to increase pagefile allocation: Start; System; Advanced). Processor speed may or may not to be a factor.