Tue, Sep 24, 4:22 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 24 4:08 pm)

Subject: Skins with Shades

Seaking406 ( ) posted Wed, 08 February 2012 at 1:06 PM · edited Tue, 24 September 2024 at 2:25 PM

hi again with another question for the learned and experienced members out there.

I'm relatively new at this but forging ahead nicely and picking up some good pointers from friends and research..

I had picked up a lot of the free files available online in the beginning to create new characters, morphs to change the shapes and skins to change the appearances (boring having the same look alike models in the scenes).. But it occured to me that one model I purchased (Nanette) was reflecting the light back in a much more realistic manner than the others that I had picked up for free until I noticed that the Nanette skin I was using had a 'shaded' option, and I think that is what is making the difference. The other skins wouldn't show rim lighting (lights shining from behind over the shoulder for example).

Under what circumstances would would unshaded skins be preferable to shaded skins?

Is adding that feature or ability to skins a difficult task (hence why those I found for free don't have that ability)?

When searching for skins, what should I be looking for in the descriptions? Will it mention it specifically that it has this option? Any highly recommended skins I should be looking for?

Thanks in advance..

RobynsVeil ( ) posted Wed, 08 February 2012 at 1:19 PM

Quick question: which version of Poser are you using?

And who makes "Nanette"? The concept of shaded skin seems a bit old technology, as in from 4 years ago or something like that. Move the light, you have to reapply the skin.

With the newer information we have about lighting, shadows on skin are much more realistic without having to resort to artifices.