Fri, Sep 20, 10:47 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / DAZ|Studio

Welcome to the DAZ|Studio Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny Forum Coordinators: Guardian_Angel_671, Daddyo3d

DAZ|Studio F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 20 4:16 am)

Subject: Reality Render thread. A new beginning.

bobvan ( ) posted Wed, 03 October 2012 at 10:56 AM

Cool thanks

Doctorjellybean ( ) posted Wed, 03 October 2012 at 11:09 AM

Question for Paolo or our resident lighting expert: which light preset in Reality is best suited for a halogen bulb (spotlight)? If there isn't one, what would the settings be for such a light?

My DA Gallery

KrazyHorse ( ) posted Wed, 03 October 2012 at 11:22 AM

Quote - Question for Paolo or our resident lighting expert: which light preset in Reality is best suited for a halogen bulb (spotlight)? If there isn't one, what would the settings be for such a light?

I'm no expert on these settings but if you don't get the answer you need look at settings simulating the sun.  Halogen lighting is used for salt water aquariums because it is very close to sunlight and makes for healthy coral in the tank. I know this because I use them.

Pret-a-3D ( ) posted Wed, 03 October 2012 at 11:31 AM · edited Wed, 03 October 2012 at 11:37 AM

Quote - Question for Paolo or our resident lighting expert: which light preset in Reality is best suited for a halogen bulb (spotlight)? If there isn't one, what would the settings be for such a light?

Since it's a bulb I would use a mesh light scaled way down and made narrow, instead of square. Scale it to real size. I would then set the color temperature to a be a bit cooler than a light bulb, probably around 3400K . Hard to know until you try but that should be a good start. Here is a chart from the good people at Lowel:

http://www.lowel.com/edu/color_temperature_and_rendering_demystified.html

Cheers.

Paolo

https://www.preta3d.com
FB: https://www.facebook.com/RealityPlugIn
Tw: @preta3d
G+: https://plus.google.com/106625816153304163119