Fri, Sep 27, 2:22 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Carrara

Welcome to the Carrara Forum

Forum Coordinators: Kalypso

Carrara F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 26 3:35 am)

Visit the Carrara Gallery here.

Carrara Free Stuff here.

Visit the Renderosity MarketPlace - Your source for digital art content!

Subject: Export Carrara text to Lightwave

deadboy ( ) posted Tue, 25 September 2001 at 2:10 AM · edited Thu, 01 August 2024 at 3:10 PM

I love using Carrara for text among other things. But I cant figure out how to export the text to lightwave for further processing. Im pretty new to 3d.

ewinemiller ( ) posted Tue, 25 September 2001 at 6:58 AM

deadboy, You should be able to export from Carrara to an OBJ file and then import it into Lightwave. I haven't done it in 6.0, but there used to be a way to bring OBJ files into the modeler in 5.6. Good Luck, Eric Winemiller Digital Carvers Guild Freeware and commercial 3D extensions http://digitalcarversguild.com

Eric Winemiller
Digital Carvers Guild
Carrara and LightWave plug-ins

deadboy ( ) posted Tue, 25 September 2001 at 1:07 PM

Thanks Eric, I did try exporting in a few different formats. Lightwave seems very picky and I get really frustrated having so many problems with such an expensive application.. It seems like Carrara excells at many things that Lightwave falls short in...like being very stable and predictable. I posted because I thought there might be something I was doing wrong in the export / import process...The main reason I wanted to export the text is becase LW has more shader options (at least in my limited experience) and it renders quicker. If I had more shader options and could render quicker in Carrara I would just use that for text..If anyone else has an ideas please post it. thanks

rockjockjared ( ) posted Wed, 26 September 2001 at 2:03 PM

Attached Link: http://www.renderosity.com/messages.ez?ForumID=12385&Form.ShowMessage=411747