Tue, Oct 22, 12:36 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / DAZ|Studio

Welcome to the DAZ|Studio Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny Forum Coordinators: Guardian_Angel_671, Daddyo3d

DAZ|Studio F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Oct 21 9:46 pm)

Subject: "Not tested with DAZ Studio" - how dangerous is it?

jspade ( ) posted Sun, 30 March 2014 at 4:52 AM · edited Sun, 20 October 2024 at 10:20 PM

I'm new to doing 3D art, and while browsing the marketplace I see a lot of content labeled as "not tested with DAZ Studio." Since DAZ is what I've been learning with, I'm wondering how big a risk I'm running buying any of this stuff?

Thanks for helping the n00b out...

Razor42 ( ) posted Sun, 30 March 2014 at 5:27 AM

Generally this caveat means the vendor won't support any issues you may experience while using the product in DS. You may find that materials need tweaking to look there best and in some cases complex materials won't work at all.

Also Poser dyamic clothing, Python script wont work in Daz Studio.

That said a lot of content will work fine in Daz Studio id even say the majority. Check the product comments and usually someone will drop a comment in about how well it works in DS or if ey experienced any problems. Also you can contact the seller directly and let them know you would purchase a DS version Or if ey know any reason it wouldnt work.

Roboman28 ( ) posted Mon, 21 April 2014 at 2:13 PM

The Poser things that will not work are:

a) Poser dynamic clothing (as noted above) - not at all

b) Clothing with Poser shaders - the colours will look funny in Daz Studio but you can compensate using the Surfaces tab or if you have bought some Daz Shaders you can use those. This is the most common incompatibility but its inconvenient rather than a disaster. So if you see something where you really like the geometry its probably worth buying but be prepared to compensate for the textures.

c) Things needing Python scripts - won't work at all.