Sun, Aug 4, 6:29 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / DAZ|Studio

Welcome to the DAZ|Studio Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny Forum Coordinators: Guardian_Angel_671, Daddyo3d

DAZ|Studio F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Aug 03 3:40 pm)

Subject: Lighting, shaders and DOF tips?

Inhervisions ( ) posted Fri, 15 July 2022 at 3:07 PM · edited Fri, 02 August 2024 at 8:29 AM

XFTG1T78I3JOYM31lXyOOQIicdMaT2XN4LO0vfSh.jpgI've been experimenting with different lighting techniques and wanted to hear your opinion on this image.

Also, how important are the use of shaders in your scene? I've never used them before, but I have tried

them once or twice and unless I'm doing something wrong, I didn't notice any difference in the results

once rendered. Is DOF a simple integration or is it a learned skill through trial and error?

Without a doubt IMO, lighting is the most crucial part in rendering a quality image that has realism.

Here's a sample render, any thoughts or tips on what I could or should do with this particular image

to increase its realism?     Thanks guys.

hborre ( ) posted Fri, 15 July 2022 at 4:10 PM

How close to real do you want it?  I quickly took an overview of your render and noticed several things that would need to be addressed.  As you mentioned, DoF is a major component.  A sharp background in a portrait is very distracting and takes away from the main focus of the image.  

The lighting in the background shows either a setting or rising sun.  Usually, the color temperature is around 3000 - 4000 degrees Kelvin, a warm yellow-red to orange color emission.  You can see that on the outside of the cabin walls.  You may want that effect to spill over throughout the scene.