Fri, Sep 20, 2:36 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Bryce

Welcome to the Bryce Forum

Forum Moderators: TheBryster

Bryce F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Aug 28 6:28 pm)

[Gallery]     [Tutorials]

THE PLACE FOR ALL THINGS BRYCE - GOT A PROBLEM? YOU'VE COME TO THE RIGHT PLACE

Subject: exporting object from 3dmax

kravitz4 ( ) posted Thu, 06 December 2001 at 2:01 PM ยท edited Fri, 20 September 2024 at 2:22 PM

file_241307.jpg

Hi again...when i try exporting from 3dmax to bryce i cannot quite get the smooth line from the original...anybody got a hint,i'm new at this i am using habware max2obj plugin picture on the left is the original from 3dmax

prodag ( ) posted Thu, 06 December 2001 at 2:51 PM

Try to use *.3ds format with out max2obj . Prodag

DMaul ( ) posted Thu, 06 December 2001 at 4:22 PM

Did you smooth it? Click on the little "E" next to the model when you select it, then smooth the object...

kravitz4 ( ) posted Fri, 07 December 2001 at 3:46 PM

thanx DMaul...it did the trick..like i said,i'm new at this learning new tricks everyday and by the way i did not need that plugin after all prodag thanx for the tip... I'll be back!

DMaul ( ) posted Sat, 08 December 2001 at 6:17 PM

Heh...I actually didnt even know if that would work or not...It was a lucky guess then :)

Vile ( ) posted Sun, 09 December 2001 at 5:06 PM

file_241308.jpg

Move the smooth to about 45-46% Trust me on this do not smooth all the way to 100% or you notice some stretching on more complex meshes. Here is an example of a mesh original brought in.

Vile ( ) posted Sun, 09 December 2001 at 5:11 PM

file_241309.jpg

notice not much of change

Vile ( ) posted Sun, 09 December 2001 at 5:17 PM

file_241312.jpg