Fri, Oct 4, 5:35 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Oct 04 4:27 pm)

Subject: Under Construction, and taking requests... (kinda long)

Penguinisto ( ) posted Thu, 10 January 2002 at 9:42 AM · edited Fri, 04 October 2024 at 5:27 PM

Attached Link: http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~weaponsfactory/view_ss.pl?id=Mon%20Apr%2023%2016:44:26%202001

Hello; While I've been lurking in this forum for about a month, I figure that it's time to give back in exchange for all the free stuff I've been busy wearing out my ethernet card over.

I guess a bit of an intriduction is in order... Online, I've been building maps for Unreal Tournament for about two years ( examples at http://www.planetunreal.com/weaponsfactory ... one overall example image can be found at included link ), and before that for Quake2 ( http://www.captured.com/wfd/ ) Some maps have involved simple layouts, while others have been rather complex (like a 3/4-scale model of an RMS Titanic-like clone.) I've been dinking around with Bryce for awhile now, using it to make custom models for insertion into the maps...

However, I'd been getting a bit burned-out on the whole FPS gaming thing, and was frustrated by the limitations imposed by the game engines I'd been working in.

Now, I had only recently discovered, then purchased Poser (and it's the only reason I keep Windows on my laptop - I'm one of those Linux freaks you keep reading about), and even more recently found a decent and far less expensive (and Linux-usable) alternative to 3DS Max (ac3d, found at http://www.ac3d.org) -