Fri, Sep 20, 8:36 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Fractals

Welcome to the Fractals Forum

Forum Moderators: Deenamic

Fractals F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Aug 27 11:19 am)

Subject: Which Fractal Generator for What Purpose .... Your Advice Please

FrankB ( ) posted Thu, 04 July 2002 at 9:51 AM · edited Wed, 28 August 2024 at 7:59 AM

Hi all, I'm new to those fractal applications and I'm a little confused about which application to choose. Now, I think most people around here use either Xenodreams or Ultra Fractal. I would appreciate your opinions on which application produces the best images and also about capabilities and limitations. I started playing around with Ultra Fractal and I wonder, if you could also provide a few tips on which algorithms you like and resource places on the web for gradients and algorithms and tutorials. Many questions, I'm sorry. But I'm curious to know.. many thanks and cheers, Frank

AristaProductionLab ( ) posted Thu, 04 July 2002 at 12:00 PM

Message671428.jpg Umm? Do you wont to know more about the two programs that you listed, Umm? Or do you also wont to include other programs that may be for-free?

FrankB ( ) posted Thu, 04 July 2002 at 1:17 PM

Thanks for the reply, and yes, I would also like to hear about other - maybe free - programs, as long as they are capable of doing top class fractal artwork. But I don't want to primarily focus on the money aspect, rather I'd like to find out about what the best application for artwork purposes is. That's my intention. I only mentioned Xenodreams and Ultrafractal for I noticed that they're quite popular. thanks, Frank

SeanPratz ( ) posted Thu, 04 July 2002 at 10:48 PM

I've got 'em both, and there's no way to compare the two. Ever used Kai's Power Tools v5? It's a bit like comparing Frax4D with Fraxplorer with Fraxflame. If you haven't used this plugin I'll explain. They put all three Frax(foo) plugins in the same box because all are so diferent. So're XD and UF.