Thu, Oct 10, 4:20 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Oct 09 12:13 pm)

Subject: upgrade to Poser 5?

LonRanger ( ) posted Tue, 30 March 2004 at 1:30 AM · edited Thu, 05 September 2024 at 3:43 AM

Hi,

What would I lose and what would I gain if I were to upgrade from Poser 4 to 5? (I'm an animator)

Thanks.

LR

numanoid ( ) posted Tue, 30 March 2004 at 1:44 AM

I am an animator, and one of the biggest plus points of Poser 5 is the animatable materials. Also the cloth room for more realistic clothing, and the hair room, although I personally don't like it, it adds a new dimension to animation. You do lose the compatibility with some other 3d programs (Max and Lightwave I think), but if you have P4 you still have that compatibility there.

LonRanger ( ) posted Tue, 30 March 2004 at 2:08 AM

(1) How would you compare ease of animation?

(2) Render time?

(3) Is it possible to run both Poser 4 and 5 on the same computer? (the reason I ask is that I thought I remembered seeing something about this being a problem when P5 first came out.)

(4) How does P5 work with dual-monitors? (When I use P4, I have to re-set up the interface each time I use it)

(5) Where can I get the best price for P5 upg? (from a reliable reseller)

Thanks.
LR

numanoid ( ) posted Tue, 30 March 2004 at 2:17 AM
  1. Exactly the same as P4, except you can have Python scripts to help, and some of them are amazing. 2) Poser 5 has both the P4 render engine and the P5 engine. The P5 engine is slower, but has a higher quality and added things, like displacement mapping and raytracing for reflections. 3) You can run both and share directories from Poser 4 to 5. 4) I have seen people use dual monitors. I don't, so I don't know this one. 5) Where do you live? US, Europe, Japan, Kenya, Mongolia?

LonRanger ( ) posted Tue, 30 March 2004 at 2:32 AM