Fri, Sep 20, 8:27 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Vue

Welcome to the Vue Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny, TheBryster

Vue F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 20 5:40 am)

Subject: what's a good way/product for realistic heavy rain

wushen ( ) posted Fri, 27 April 2007 at 6:52 PM · edited Mon, 05 August 2024 at 7:27 AM

I'm relatively new to animation/ modeling, but I'm working on a project which includes many scenes of heavy rain. I have vue 6 infinate and am using poser 7, the standard vue cylender method looks pretty cheesy, I also have an important shot involving rain splashing in water (with ripples), and would love to have animated drips off of faces, I'm curious about 2 products, both are poser-based found on this site "stormy rain" by forester, and one from "Jepe's movie props" the first is a prop based effect (which would eat polygons) and the other consists of AVI plates. I think it could be possible to do this also with poser physics and dynamic materials, but I've been apprehensive to get into the dynamic materials, and do not own poser physics. I'd greatly appreciate any advice on this....thanks

madfishsam ( ) posted Fri, 27 April 2007 at 9:54 PM

vue to the best of my knowledge cannot do most of this. the parts with rain hitting the water or running down surfaces are just not possible. these effects are hard to achieve even in top programs like 3d max. I my self how ever would try to go at the other part in post production. places like http://www.animationsforvideo.com/html/overlay_effects.htm can give you a what you need.

keenart ( ) posted Fri, 27 April 2007 at 11:13 PM
vkirchner ( ) posted Sat, 28 April 2007 at 8:07 AM

I have also heard of Ripple Rain by Kerlin Softworks. http://www.caligari.com/Products/trueSpace/ts5/plugins/caligari/FXPak/default.asp?Cate=Caligari

tebop ( ) posted Sat, 28 April 2007 at 8:52 AM