Mon, Sep 9, 6:57 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 09 6:38 am)

Subject: posing multiple obj's

papillon68 ( ) posted Fri, 24 April 2009 at 11:47 AM · edited Mon, 12 August 2024 at 11:17 PM

I'm very new to Poser so forgive me if this is a basic question.

I have a model composed of several parts (body, eyes, teeth etc.).
Each part is a separate .obj file, so in Poser I'd like to import those files, and later pose those.

But I'd like of course that if I create bones on the body and I pose it, that eyes, teeth etc. would pose accordingly.

Is that possible or I have to merge all the body parts into a single mesh and then pose it ?

visit my blog:  www.alessandromastronardi.com

My Rendo Store

markschum ( ) posted Fri, 24 April 2009 at 1:11 PM

Import all the parts to poser. position them in place and parent the parts to the appropriate bodypart. Then open the hierarchy editor and check your figure. There is a button near the bottom to create a figure from your hierarchy.

nruddock ( ) posted Fri, 24 April 2009 at 1:33 PM

You really need to have all the parts in a single OBJ file, otherwise you'll have breaks at the joins.
There is no need to weld the parts, Poser does this internally for body parts.

lesbentley ( ) posted Fri, 24 April 2009 at 6:49 PM

Quote - You really need to have all the parts in a single OBJ file, otherwise you'll have breaks at the joins.
There is no need to weld the parts, Poser does this internally for body parts.

Welding still works even if the geometries are loaded by separate 'objFileGeom' statements, rather than a single 'figureResFile '. The important thing is that the vertices in one part match up exactly (or almost exactly) with the vertices in the other part.

lesbentley ( ) posted Fri, 24 April 2009 at 7:29 PM

file_429373.TXT