Mon, Sep 9, 6:56 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 09 6:38 am)

Subject: saving bones and using them with another figure

papillon68 ( ) posted Wed, 17 June 2009 at 6:59 PM · edited Wed, 28 August 2024 at 9:31 AM

Hi guys, I just started playing with Poser, and I am curious to know if a certain bone structure can be saved and used with other similar figures. So that I should not start to bone the figure from scratch and instead, with minimal tweaking, adapt an existing one.

Thanks for any help !

visit my blog:  www.alessandromastronardi.com

My Rendo Store

pjz99 ( ) posted Wed, 17 June 2009 at 7:11 PM

Yes, and in fact this is the basis for nearly the entire Poser content market.  You can model clothing for popular figures like the DAZ people and use their rig setup (their bones) to rig the clothing as a conformer to the character.

My Freebies

nruddock ( ) posted Wed, 17 June 2009 at 7:13 PM

You can bring in an existing skeleton by loading the CR2 when in the Setup room.
Unfortunately doing so loads not only the skeleton, but the morph channels (and data) which probably won't be useful, so it's best to create a stripped down copy using a text editor beforehand.

You must make sure that the group names match the bone names (again it may save some pain if you do this using a text editor as Poser sometimes glitches when you rename bones).

DarkEdge ( ) posted Wed, 17 June 2009 at 9:56 PM

Well, minimal tweaking is a very subjective term...especially when it comes to rigging, bones and the setup room.
Often times you can spend as much time tweaking something as setting up your own custom rig, of course this will be dependant upon your figure/creature/model that you are working with. The more complex and/or different your figure is the more you will want to create your own rig for it (rig = bones).