Sun, Oct 6, 6:40 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / DAZ|Studio

Welcome to the DAZ|Studio Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny Forum Coordinators: Guardian_Angel_671, Daddyo3d

DAZ|Studio F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Oct 05 2:10 pm)

Subject: lighting advice wanted, new studio user and spotlights

markschum ( ) posted Sun, 18 January 2015 at 10:40 AM · edited Sat, 28 September 2024 at 10:52 AM

I am new to Daz studio  and using the opengl renderer. (the delight render plugin doesnt work)

The scene is a room prop , genesis2 male and genesis 2 female.

Lighting is 6 spotlights, three above pointed toward the stage center and two near floor level pointed slightly up.

All lights at 1--% intensity.

The scene renders much darker than the preview. The back wall does not appear lit, and I dont seem to be getting any shadow.

any suggestions of what I should adjust ?

the point lights also are not illuminating scenes either.  I am used to doing this in Poser..

file_2a79ea27c279e471f4d180b08d62b00a.jp 

Medzinatar ( ) posted Sun, 18 January 2015 at 11:14 AM · edited Sun, 18 January 2015 at 11:15 AM

before giving any advice, you should find out why 3Delight does not work.  That is the core renderer and many features are unavailable or work not as expected in the other render options

markschum ( ) posted Sun, 18 January 2015 at 11:21 AM

the 3delight plugin does not work because I am running win xp and a simgle core processor. It may be the result I am getting is expected for opengl.

I am simply trying to evaluate studio as a replacement for Poser before I upgrade my PC.

markht ( ) posted Sun, 18 January 2015 at 12:34 PM · edited Sun, 18 January 2015 at 12:43 PM

When I started using DAZ I had a 32 bit Win XP system. I could only get 3Delight to render tinny scenes. I used OpenGL a lot. OpenGL is not a not really a render, it is more of a fast preview.