Fri, Aug 2, 11:27 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Jul 31 8:13 pm)

Subject: Template SIZE vs Render Quality question

igohigh ( ) posted Wed, 09 August 2023 at 2:13 PM · edited Fri, 02 August 2024 at 10:05 PM

I have been using Poser for many years (since version 2) but never really thought about this and have not seen anyone ask in all this time:

If I enlarge a Template to make a texture; do I get increased resolution in the rendered output?
I mean: lets say I buy a model, the creator mapped it and supplied UV Maps at 900x900, lets say it is a T-Shirt and I want to make my own texture with words.
900x900 in today's terms is rather small and text or intricate designs will only have so much quality in the rendered output: So, if I open up the supplied 900x900 template and Enlarged it to 4000x4000 and make my texture (saving as 4000x4000) does Poser 'project' that larger texture onto the model or does the render engine shrink it back down to 900x900 for rendering due to the size the .OBJ was originally mapped.

Second: if the render engine does shrink it back down to 900x900 then would Remapping the .OBJ at 4000x4000 and swapping it out in the Geometry folder be the solution?

I know, dumb question but just wondering.....

Sunfire ( ) posted Wed, 09 August 2023 at 2:33 PM

Use something like the free uvmapper, and extract the template from the obj and save it at 4000x4000. Then the template will be right and textures made using that template will look the way you intend.

Sunfire's Creations

hborre ( ) posted Wed, 09 August 2023 at 2:59 PM

Scaling down is better than scaling up.  It would seem more reasonable to create a higher-resolution template for the purpose of zooming in and out on your work as mentioned.  Maybe consider working with a .PNG image format that tolerates scaling better than .JPG.