Tue, Oct 8, 6:29 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Oct 08 4:32 pm)

Subject: Poser 5/6 Reflection_Image Node in Materials Room

Seriphum ( ) posted Wed, 13 April 2005 at 1:33 PM · edited Tue, 08 October 2024 at 6:26 PM

file_219733.jpg

I really hate to sound like a newbie here, but I was reading a rather ill-documented tutorial, and it had in it's screen shot of the material room, a node that was titled "Reflection_Image" and for the life of me, I can't seem to find how to create that node! Could someone please help! Much of grass

maxxxmodelz ( ) posted Wed, 13 April 2005 at 1:49 PM

Looks like the guy renamed it. There is no "reflection image" node per-say. It's basically just a standard 2D image node plugged into a sphere map node.

Tools :  3dsmax 2015, Daz Studio 4.6, PoserPro 2012, Blender v2.74

System: Pentium QuadCore i7, under Win 8, GeForce GTX 780 / 2GB GPU.

Seriphum ( ) posted Wed, 13 April 2005 at 1:57 PM

I thought that at first as well, but I saw other examples of People in the forums posting pics with the same node. It's either a coincidence that multiple people renamed their nodes to the exact same thing, or there's more to it than just a rename!

thixen ( ) posted Wed, 13 April 2005 at 1:58 PM

yea thats all that is. It's just an image map pluged into a sphere environment map node and then plugged into the reflection color node. It's used to 'fake' reflections and often actually look a lot more realistic then raytraced reflections, since there is often nothing for the raytrace reflections to reflect in the scene Has anyone ever figured out a way to have both mapped and raytraced reflections on the same material?

maxxxmodelz ( ) posted Wed, 13 April 2005 at 2:09 PM · edited Wed, 13 April 2005 at 2:13 PM