Mon, Oct 21, 5:02 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / DAZ|Studio

Welcome to the DAZ|Studio Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny Forum Coordinators: Guardian_Angel_671, Daddyo3d

DAZ|Studio F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Oct 21 3:29 pm)

Subject: Question regarding textures for version 1.0.1.0

Pedrith ( ) posted Sat, 28 January 2006 at 4:37 PM · edited Fri, 11 October 2024 at 4:05 PM

Hi. I'm new to Daz Studio and am working on a small animation project. I'm used to using Bryce 5, but sadly it can not do what I need without a ton of work. I am using the fantasy book prop from daz, but I want to use my own textures on the book. I have made my textures but don't know how to get daz studio to display them on the book prop. Could somebody help me with this? Thanks. David

SpottedKitty ( ) posted Sat, 28 January 2006 at 6:08 PM

The easiest quick-and-dirty way is to convert the existing .cr2 file for the book into a .pz2 MAT pose file. (Note that there are lots of other ways, don't take this as The One True Way, this is just what I'm happiest with.)

• Make a copy of the .cr2 and open it in a text editor.

• Right at the top is a "version" section, and a single bit of data between a pair of curly brackets. Keep this bit, and mark all the text from there down to...

• Move down to the end of the file, where you'll find a bunch of "material" sections, detailing all the material names in the object. Scroll up, going over all the materials, until you reach a "figure" statement, which actually contains all the materials (if you note carefully how all the curly brackets go). Delete from your mark at the top down to just above the "figure" section.

• The first two lines of the statement are "figure" itself and an opening bracket. Delete from here (usually for a poseable figure, a Name statement and a few addChild and weld statements, among others) down to the first material section.