Thu, Oct 3, 11:32 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Oct 02 9:25 am)

Subject: Problems with displacement map - strange distortion with the texture.

jenay ( ) posted Sat, 08 September 2007 at 7:07 AM · edited Thu, 03 October 2024 at 11:31 AM

file_387311.jpg

It's not very often that I am asking tech questions here in the poser forum. I am new to Poser5's material room. I did my first experiments. Now I wanted to combine an image map (photographic rough stonetexture) with a simple B&W image as displacement map. It works so far, but the texture gets stredged and I can't find out how to fix it, if possible at all. here is pic showing the problem:

jenay ( ) posted Sat, 08 September 2007 at 7:08 AM

file_387312.jpg

... and here is a pic how I set up the material, not much complicated. Does this feature only work with small displacement values ? Did I miss something ??

jonthecelt ( ) posted Sat, 08 September 2007 at 7:18 AM

The edge of the displaceent map (the black/white border) is probably not as clean or crisp as you would like it to be for a completely clean edge to your object. You need to clean it up in Photoshop/Gimp/editor of choice.

JonTheCelt

BeyondVR ( ) posted Sat, 08 September 2007 at 7:20 AM

What you are seeing is the edges of the pixels of your displacement map.  If the resolution of the map is high enough, you can smooth the edges in your paint program.  That may help.  Also, this is one instance where texture filtering (render options) can make a difference.

Hope this helps.

John

jenay ( ) posted Sat, 08 September 2007 at 9:51 AM

file_387325.jpg