Sun, Sep 22, 12:41 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Vue

Welcome to the Vue Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny, TheBryster

Vue F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 20 5:40 am)

Subject: New monitors ???

Trepz ( ) posted Mon, 18 August 2008 at 11:34 AM · edited Sun, 22 September 2024 at 12:39 AM

Greets all,

I am in the market for a new monitor and have a couple of choices over here and wanted to know what your experiance is. I am looking at either a 27 inch Dell widescreen monitor, or for about 1000 less i can get a 32 inch Sony HDTV that has a plug for computer use. What would you recomend. I ask as i have never ran or seen anyone run a pc through a television.

"Many are willing to suffer for their art. Few are willing to learn to draw."

jgmart ( ) posted Mon, 18 August 2008 at 11:47 AM

Hey Paul -  I've been using my 32" Samsung HDTV as my monitor for a few months now - there's no way I could ever go back to a smaller or less quality monitor. Even for apps like VUE, just moving objects around is so much easier to see. I set the source (on the tv) to "Just Scan" and the display fits the screen perfectly.  So now I use it as both my TV and pc monitor.  I'm going to add a second smaller display - like a 19" or something,  to use with Painter and Photoshop which take advantage of dual displays. 

garyandcatherine ( ) posted Mon, 18 August 2008 at 3:49 PM

I have a 24" Dell WS monitor and absolutely love it.  It took me 2 weeks to get over the CRT feel but once I did, well like jgmart said, I will never go back.

If you use your monitor for other functions as well, such as video games, just make sure it has a FAST draw/refresh rate.  Mine is 5 ms (milliseconds).  A fast monitor is absolutely essential if you play intense FPS games--especially online FPS games.  Nothings worse than gettin fragged by some dumb schmo because your monitor couldn't keep up with you.

BTW--I am drooling all over my desk at what jgmart has got.