Sun, Sep 22, 5:25 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Carrara

Welcome to the Carrara Forum

Forum Coordinators: Kalypso

Carrara F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 07 1:44 am)

Visit the Carrara Gallery here.

Carrara Free Stuff here.

Visit the Renderosity MarketPlace - Your source for digital art content!

Subject: Making money off 3D design work...

ominousplay ( ) posted Sun, 18 April 2010 at 1:13 PM · edited Sun, 22 September 2024 at 5:24 AM

I've been playing around with 3D design for over ten years.  I can call myself a hobbyist with mediocre skills.  In the beginning I wanted to make a living at it and started a company (business license, cards, a computer, and big ambitions) - and that first year I made about $300!  About enough to upgrade a few softwares.

My first job was designing a sword for a local band's CD cover.

My second job was not 3D related, but instead, Photoshop - blowing up and stitching together a panorama of a mall for a court case. 

That was it.  A few years ago I printed my 3D landscape and wildlife art, made custom frames, and sold them for $100 each at craft shows.  I think I sold maybe 5 of so... not a killing by any means.

So my questions is, who has made either a living or a second job from their 3D design skills?  And specifically - if Carrara is your core tool, how is it used?

I find it interesting how many different avenues one can take to market and sell their art and design work.

Thank you,
OP

Never Give Up!

animajikgraphics ( ) posted Sun, 18 April 2010 at 1:28 PM

I've been commissioned to do many animations and video promos. I mainly use Carrara and D|S now. I would say it accounts for a good 20% of my business. (producer/editor and web developer being my main business)

FatCatAlley.net | Now Playing "SpaceCat 5" Parts 1 and 2

Danas_Anis ( ) posted Sun, 18 April 2010 at 2:17 PM