Tue, Oct 1, 2:27 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 30 7:03 pm)

Subject: animating

Artchitect ( ) posted Sat, 25 June 2011 at 6:46 PM · edited Tue, 01 October 2024 at 2:26 PM

i'm new to poser and animation entirely. umm. about making an animation, how long would it usually take?

for example, lets say i want to make an Alyson raise her hand up to her face and look at it. how long does it take to make it happen and correct all the errors and make the animation go nice and smooth? are there specific steps to take other than manipulating the parameters???

markschum ( ) posted Sat, 25 June 2011 at 7:03 PM

I do it this way, others may do it differently.

1. Time the action doing it yourself. say 1 second to lift hand and 1 second to move it a but.  2 seconds total at 30 fps is 60 frames

2. Position the figure in a neutralpose at frame 1 and keyframe all actors.

3. at frame 30 position figure with hand raised, and any other pose changes and keyframe it.

4 at frame 60 next pose, hand moved a bit , maybe head tilt , keyframe it.

5 run the anim in preview and see where its rough.  We want the nad to stay in place for a bit so go to frame 20 , and copy paste the hand and arm keyframes from frame 30. Also past them to frame 40.

keep adjusting and adding new keyframes till its smooth enough.

I would allow 30 minutes for that , you might take a couple of hours, but thats ok.

If you have enough keyframes start using the graph editor to check how smooth a curve you have and make small adjustments in that.

Artchitect ( ) posted Sat, 25 June 2011 at 7:06 PM

Quote - I do it this way, others may do it differently.

1. Time the action doing it yourself. say 1 second to lift hand and 1 second to move it a but.  2 seconds total at 30 fps is 60 frames

2. Position the figure in a neutralpose at frame 1 and keyframe all actors.