Tue, Oct 22, 9:54 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Oct 22 9:37 am)

Subject: Creating materials for poser pro 2010 'primitives'

timarender ( ) posted Thu, 05 July 2012 at 11:49 AM · edited Tue, 22 October 2024 at 9:51 AM

I have limited modelling experience, but have collected various free/shareware apps which may help - (if only I understood things better).

Is there a collection of graghics templates for use with the Poser Pro primitive props; to use when creating my own materials?
For example, I assumed it would be easy to create a graphic for a 'dice'; and then apply it to a simple Box.

Forgive my ignorance, what is this process called; that of creating an exploded graphic which is intended to fit a particular prop? At least I will know where to start looking.

Thank you.

hborre ( ) posted Thu, 05 July 2012 at 12:16 PM

We can go from UVMapping to procedural shaders for creating material nodes.

charlie43 ( ) posted Thu, 05 July 2012 at 12:20 PM

The process is called texture mapping. It is often done in coordination with UV mapping, which is performed in a 3-D modeling app. I have been working on this all year. I find that Blender 2.63 is my best choice for a modeling app. It is free, strongly supported by the community, and is upgraded often. It has a large learning curve, but there are many tutorials and lessons that can be found online. I use CGCookie.com to learn about Blender. They have many free tutorials, and also a paid subscription which allows you access to much more. It is well worth the $10 subscription fee. 

HTH

C~

lesbentley ( ) posted Fri, 06 July 2012 at 7:15 AM · edited Fri, 06 July 2012 at 7:20 AM

file_483432.jpg