Sun, Oct 6, 9:20 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Oct 05 8:40 pm)

Subject: UV Rotation

lesbentley ( ) posted Tue, 18 September 2012 at 3:58 PM · edited Sun, 06 October 2024 at 7:16 AM

I could use some advice on how to rotate a section of a UV map.

After using Poser for years, I finally decided to to have a crack at modelling. My first project is a coffin, and I'm happy with the resulting mesh, but I have a problem with the UVs.

The coffin has two groups "main" and "top" (lid), the two groups share the same material "main". The orientation of UVs on the top of the coffin run side-side, and those on the sides of the coffin run front-back.

I want to change the orientation of the UVs on the top only, so that they run front-back. How do I do this?

The tools I have are Poser PP2012, UV Mapper Classic, Roadkill 1.1, and Hexagon 2.5.1.79. I'm very new to the last two.

markschum ( ) posted Tue, 18 September 2012 at 4:07 PM

You can shift 90 degrees by using the VU setting in the material (where it says UV)

millighost ( ) posted Tue, 18 September 2012 at 4:30 PM

Quote - You can shift 90 degrees by using the VU setting in the material (where it says UV)

Yes, that will likely solve the problem for the top, but then you would have the problem on the bottom, like with a rubik's cube, where solving one side destroys another. I think you can do it in uv mapper (select some uvs and rotate them), but i do not know the details.

lesbentley ( ) posted Tue, 18 September 2012 at 4:37 PM

millighost, you hit the nail on the head, it's the a rubik's cube problem. UV Mapper Clasic has a tool "Rotate" but using it, either with a section or the whole mesh selected, does not seem to have any effect.

lesbentley ( ) posted Tue, 18 September 2012 at 4:41 PM