Thu, Sep 19, 3:38 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 19 2:39 pm)

Subject: OctaneRender for Poser

face_off ( ) posted Mon, 14 January 2013 at 3:11 PM

Does anyone have advice on a reasonably priced external PCI-E X16 expansion box? The ones I could locate thru Google cost more than a new computer. I only have one slott for the time being, and I don't think I will be buying a new computer anytime this year (my car's transmission just went out).

I'm not an expert on this, but others have indicated it is better to get a new motherboard that supports multiple cards (maybe MSI Z77A-G45 @ about $100?) than an expansion box.  You can use a single graphics card for rendering and Windows display - it just means Windows runs a little slowly when rendering heavy scenes.  You can also use you on-board graphics for Windows display and the graphics card for rendering (my current setup) and they works very well.  The best way to check is to run the demo version of the plugin and see how you current system performs.

Creator of PoserPhysics
Creator of OctaneRender for Poser
Blog
Facebook

face_off ( ) posted Sun, 27 January 2013 at 2:56 AM

Attached Link: http://www.fxguide.com/featured/octane-render-realtime-ray-tracing/

A great review of OctaneRender. Shame the Poser plugin didn't get a mention :-

Creator of PoserPhysics
Blog
Facebook

face_off ( ) posted Sun, 03 February 2013 at 7:05 PM

Attached Link: http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=27920

file_491305.jpg

A stunning render from Rikk The Gaijin (obviously an incredibly talented artist) - modelled in ZBrush and rendered in Octane.  See the full thread at the link provided.

Creator of PoserPhysics
Blog
Facebook

face_off ( ) posted Sun, 03 February 2013 at 7:06 PM
ErickL88 ( ) posted Mon, 04 February 2013 at 11:20 AM