Sat, Aug 3, 9:55 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Animation

Welcome to the Animation Forum

Forum Moderators: Wolfenshire, Deenamic Forum Coordinators: Anim8dtoon

Animation F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Jul 09 7:44 am)

In here we will dicuss everything that moves.

Characters, motion graphics, props, particles... everything that moves!
Enjoy , create and share :)
Remember to check the FAQ for useful information and resources.

Animation learning and resources:

[Animations]

Checkout the Renderosity MarketPlace - Your source for digital art content!

Subject: What apps should I use in game dev?

CountRugen ( ) posted Tue, 03 December 2013 at 9:20 AM · edited Sat, 03 August 2024 at 9:33 AM

Hey folks!

I am an experienced developer transitioning into hobbyist game creation using the Unity3D game engine. While my skills in that arena are evolving nicely, I'm clueless as to 3D modeling and animation. If I'm a coder, why am I trying to learn modeling and animation? Basically, I'm not trying to become a pro, I just wish to have a handle on the whole game production process, start to finish (which includes learning the basics of modeling and animation).

Long story short: for an utter n00b to the process, what are the applications primarily used to generate 3D models and animation for games? I'm guessing it looks something like this...

1. Custom build a 3D Model = Photoshop, Poser ?

2. Or just buy a 3D Model

3. Build out it's animations = Maya, 3DS Max ?

4. Export it as some form of asset/object/file to be imported into a game dev SDK

After I hear your input, I will try to use those apps to generate the models for the test game I'm making.

nemirc ( ) posted Tue, 03 December 2013 at 9:55 AM

If you're using Unity, you need an app that can export to FBX format. You could even use Blender for that, I assume (it's free). No need to use that many apps unless you need to do something very specific. How to import the assets depends on how your engine works.