Sat, Sep 21, 5:54 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 21 3:32 pm)

Subject: Legal Question...

gothgurl6669 ( ) posted Fri, 28 December 2001 at 2:23 AM · edited Sat, 21 September 2024 at 5:50 PM

Ok, I'm new to the whole 3D scene and have a few questions. Mainly, a friend of mine online has a bunch of stuff he's not using anymore. Old files like Victoria 1 and such. He said he'd give them to me because he's not using them...is that ok for him to just give them to me. I'd love to have more to play with. (To be honest, the stuff I am using is already my fiancees stuff, but we live together) So can I take the stuff that my friend isn't using any more or should I just wait to get it when I can buy it?

CobaltDragon ( ) posted Fri, 28 December 2001 at 2:29 AM

I'm not 100% positive but if your friend gives you all of the program and the certs that go with it then you should be the new legal owner. I believe that you can resell software or give it away you just can't copy it and distribute it.

Skygirl ( ) posted Fri, 28 December 2001 at 2:33 AM

I had a friend that gave up playing with Poser a while ago and he gave me all his stuff, what made me ask the same question as you. I was told it was ok, as long as my friend delete the files from his own computer, so I was the only user. Concerning using your fiancess stuff...well, thats more tricky...hope somebody else can say something about that part, because I cant. Btw welcome to this forum. Thats THE place to ask all the Poser-qustions. Help is NEVER far away :-) Sky :-)

gothgurl6669 ( ) posted Fri, 28 December 2001 at 2:42 AM