Sat, Sep 21, 9:32 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 21 1:47 am)

Subject: Time to start a war: Recommendations for 3D software to accentuate Poser?

kuroyume0161 ( ) posted Tue, 24 September 2002 at 5:21 PM · edited Sat, 21 September 2024 at 9:29 AM

The new system is up and running, but it cost a grand to build. Luckily, I was able to sell enough stuff on eBay to pay for it (a big thanks to those buyers!). Nonetheless, my coffers are low and my available credit even lower. :) Obviously, 3DStudio Max 5 or Maya Unlimited 4.5 would be ideal for any 3D graphics work, but their prices are way out of my range at this time. Anyway, I'm a hobbyist and not a professional so they would be overkill (but nice '). I can't find any 'used' high-end 3D software for sale. One guy on eBay has Maya Unlimited 4.0 for $500, but his response left me wondering: he'd send me a CD COPY of HIS software? That doesn't sound very registerable, usable or upgradeable, now does it? To the point: Here's a list of software that I've found here and at 3D Cafe and I would be supremely interested in your opinions on their efficacy compared to price and features that make them more worthy than others: Expensive: 3D Studio Max 5 $3195 Maya UL 4.5 $2000 LightWave 3D 7.5 $1595 Rhino 3D 2.0 $ 800 Mid-Range: RealSoft 3D $ 699 Imagine 3D $ 550 Z Brush $ 399 Carrara 2 $ 399 Amapi 3D 6.1 $ 399 Inexpensive: Bryce 5 $ 300 trueSpace $ 300 Animation: Master $ 290 Vue d'Esprit $ 200 Feel free to add your personal favorites not listed here or to illuminate why any of those listed are not flexible or are more specialized than for general 3D graphics modelling and rendering. I know that this is a lot to ask and if you can point to an online resource instead, all the better! Kuroyume