Fri, Sep 20, 7:39 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Carrara

Welcome to the Carrara Forum

Forum Coordinators: Kalypso

Carrara F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 07 1:44 am)

Visit the Carrara Gallery here.

Carrara Free Stuff here.

Visit the Renderosity MarketPlace - Your source for digital art content!

Subject: Carrara 2 distortions - part 1

beetle-car ( ) posted Sat, 12 October 2002 at 5:21 PM ยท edited Fri, 13 September 2024 at 3:05 AM

file_27243.jpg

I am somewhat new to 3D modeling. I'm using Carrara 2 with the latest patch. This object was made with primatives and boolean subtractions. However as you can see, there are numerous dents and distortions in the surface around the holes. Changing the silhouette quality in the boolean dialog seems to make no difference.

Can someone tell me why this is happening?

Nicholas86 ( ) posted Sat, 12 October 2002 at 5:29 PM

Booleans suck, thats why its happening:) Though not many programs have perfectly working booleans:) so don't feel too bad. My suggestions on things to check would be the size of the subtraction object..make sure its a bit larger then the actually size of the whole/area you want...too close to the edge(internal and external) of the object you are subtracting from and it could cause some deformations. Also did you subtract a cylinder from a cylinder to create the large hole? The more boolean operations you perform the greater the risk of problems. Brian

nivek_ ( ) posted Sat, 12 October 2002 at 7:12 PM

RDS had near perfect boolean, I can't remeber it ever messing up, I could boolean an object as many times as I wanted. Why doesn't C use the RDS boolean?

ppowellaa ( ) posted Sat, 12 October 2002 at 7:35 PM

I have found that objects with more vertaces boolean better than simpler ones, try subdeviding you cylender then do the boolean

riversedge ( ) posted Mon, 14 October 2002 at 3:48 PM