Sat, Sep 21, 5:45 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Carrara

Welcome to the Carrara Forum

Forum Coordinators: Kalypso

Carrara F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 07 1:44 am)

Visit the Carrara Gallery here.

Carrara Free Stuff here.

Visit the Renderosity MarketPlace - Your source for digital art content!

Subject: Best 3d card for 3d/Carrara modeling

Zhukov ( ) posted Fri, 06 October 2000 at 2:30 PM · edited Sat, 21 September 2024 at 5:41 PM

I run Carrara, the other MetaCreations software, and the Corel graphics progs. For 3d modeling, I wa swondering what the best card is? Can I use one of the new gamer powerhouses? (G Force 2) or do i have to by some "pro" card (Oxygen?, etc) I am kind of new at 3d modeling, but have a halfway decent computer, P3-800mhz with 256 pc-133 ram and 40 gigs of hd space. Is this enough or should i consider something else/more? Thanks, Zhukov

ClintH ( ) posted Fri, 06 October 2000 at 3:33 PM

Zhukov, Your system CPU and memory is in fine shape to handle most if not all 3D apps. I am looking at the new G Force 2 cards as well. They look very powerful. I know a few of the guys here run the Oxygen cards like BigSerge. I hear they are great. Im leaning towards the new G Force 2 cards. Right now I have a PII 400Mhz with 256 mb ram and a TNT1 AGP 16mb card. I;ve had this setup for almost 2 years and it is still working great. But, I feel that the upgrade to CPU and video cards are just around the corner for me. You might want to stop by : Toms Hardware To see if he has some info/benchmarks on these cards. His site is awsome. Maybe some of the other members are using the G-Force 2 or Oxygen cards and will post how they are doing for them. Regards and good luck. Clint Carrara, Ray Dream, Poser Figures and 3D Add-Ons. Hawkin-Z GraF-X Blinksm.gif

Clint Hawkins
MarketPlace Manager/Copyright Agent

All my life I've been over the top ... I don't know what I'm doing ... All I know is I don't wana stop!
(Zakk Wylde (2007))