Sat, Sep 21, 9:07 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 21 1:47 am)

Subject: Poser User Interface Stability?

trails2rails ( ) posted Mon, 10 February 2003 at 11:27 AM · edited Sat, 21 September 2024 at 8:54 AM

First of all, let me point out that I've been using Poser 4, ProPack and P5 on two machines for over two years (well, P4 that is)... And - I am a very, very happy user - I feel Poser does things that once could only be "imagined" and is well worth the price.

However - I need a sanity check. I run W/2000 on 1.7 Ghz, 1 GB+ memory machines with over 600 GB disk each. Every OS component is up to date. All CL service packs, etc. are installed. But I constantly have crashes and hangs in the Poser User Interface, not to mention tons of just plain flakey performance. Example:

• After a render, poser just goes into space - 100% CPU utilization, no way to get it back. 10% of all renders end for me this way.

• All of a suden, most of the menus are grayed out. Within a minute or two - all goes dead.

• Poser looses it's place with respect to file location. Ie. successive imports of BVH files fail to go back to the last location, and instead go to some other strange directory.

Etc...

No other application of mine behaves this way...

I can live with this - but I am wondering am I the only one - and is there some other strange problem on my machines, or do other have this issue as well.

Thanks!

Lou

Eric Walters ( ) posted Mon, 10 February 2003 at 11:33 AM