Thu, Sep 19, 12:33 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 19 11:30 am)

Subject: Pardon my asking, but...

FrenchToast ( ) posted Mon, 22 December 2003 at 1:14 PM · edited Thu, 19 September 2024 at 12:32 PM

What can you do with Poser by itself? I've been planning on buying Poser 5 for about 2 weeks now, and I'm hearing comments like "... What 3D application would you use to make stuff for it?" ... ! I'm an Artist/Illistrator that is getting into 3D animation. From what I saw, Poser was the better program for charater creation, but I'm suddenly hearing things like you CAN'T actally do that. Could someone fill me in and tell me what I should buy this week!? 8p

ockham ( ) posted Mon, 22 December 2003 at 1:23 PM

Depends on the definition of "character creation". If you want to invent entirely new shapes and turn them into characters, then you'll need a separate modeling app. But if you mean something a bit less severe, then Poser will do the job. A huge number of basic figures and props are available, and Poser gives you several ways to reshape those items. Note that I said "several", not "many". Most Poser users, sooner or later, bump into the edge of its native reshaping abilities.

My python page
My ShareCG freebies

DCArt ( ) posted Mon, 22 December 2003 at 1:27 PM