Tue, Sep 24, 6:26 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / DAZ|Studio

Welcome to the DAZ|Studio Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny Forum Coordinators: Guardian_Angel_671, Daddyo3d

DAZ|Studio F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 23 1:55 pm)

Subject: Help! Daz 3d is making me cry.

l8sho ( ) posted Sun, 08 March 2009 at 9:04 AM · edited Tue, 24 September 2024 at 6:15 AM

I am a beginner. I just downloaded Daz 3d to begin messing around with it, and it loads up Victoria 4 just fine and everything else seems to be functioning okay. EXCEPT: I've tried every permutation I could find to load 3rd party content into Daz 3d and it simply will not work. No matter where I place the runtimes, I can't the new content to register in the content load window. I've tried to create new content folders and change the setting in Preferences just like all the tutorials say, but it's just not happening. I thought this software was supposed to be easy to get started on. What am I missing

Victoria_Lee ( ) posted Sun, 08 March 2009 at 9:15 AM

Did you run a scan for Poser content outside of Studio?  You can do that from your Preferences menu and then Studio will know where everything is.  You don't have to move anything around.

Hugz from Phoenix, USA

Victoria

Remember, sometimes the dragon wins. Correction: MOST times.

RHaseltine ( ) posted Sun, 08 March 2009 at 9:21 AM

I think I answered this on the DAZ forums, but you need to either search to add your content to the database or switch to folder view instead of the default category view. Click the triangle button at the extreme top-right of the Content plaette to get the option menu, from which you can do either.

mishamcm ( ) posted Sun, 08 March 2009 at 10:49 AM

To elaborate:

D|S since version 2.1 has two ways of viewing content:

1. Folder views, which show the folder structure as it's laid out on the hard drive, and
  2. Category views, which use a database.